This week…

fatigue-clipart-sleep-on-couch2It’s been one of those weeks. Where the humidity is high and breathing is hard and I stayed in the same clothing for 3 days. I rallied (and changed clothing!) to go to rehab on Monday and was extremely frustrated when my body didn’t do what it was supposed to. Went to the doctor on Tuesday and back to rehab on Wednesday where it did go better than Monday. And when I came home, I went to lay down and hooked myself up to the noninvasive ventilator because I needed to make sure I felt ok because we had plans to go to my friends Stefanie and Jason for dinner (a BBQ!). I had been looking forward to it and sometimes when you have a good goal, your mind can force your body to comply. And I made it there!

Jason and I were in the same third grade class in school, and then just the same grade (but not actual class) up through high school. We worked near each other in downtown Manhattan the summer after high school and used to meet up for lunch by the World Trade Center. Stefanie and I may have first met at Hillel Day camp one summer (it certainly looks like her in an old camp photo), but became friends when Stef transferred to my High school in 9th grade and became my classmate for 4 years. We spent the summer of my 16th birthday together on a teen tour of Israel, and continued to keep in touch throughout our separate college experiences. I actually visited them in Pittsburgh (from NY) shortly after they bought their current house in the fall of 2001 and they were my first thought when I knew I might be coming to Pittsburgh for lungs.

We spent last night doing a lot of reminiscing…. When they came to visit me after my wisdom teeth came out to tell me they picked a wedding date and my reply was, “you’re getting married on Shani Cappell’s birthday?” And on our 8th grade moon phases project, something any HAFTR JHS alum can recall. And thankfully we had Shana on text as a lifeline when we couldn’t remember who taught 8th grade Social Studies.

carmirrorLooking back, I’m reminded of how many times I felt overwhelmed by school experiences and drama and like there was no way to make it through (though from this perspective they were so trivial) and it really made me realize that no matter what, I’ve always pushed through and made it work, I never backed down or crumbled under the pressure. And I will with this now too. And even better, I have many good friends who stand by me and support me throughout it all.

So besides for them, on this Thankful Thursday here are a few things I’m thankful for this week. As always, feel free to comment and let us know what you are thankful for.

Meri’s list:   

  1. My sister-in-law, Estee. Seeing how tomorrow is the anniversary of her joining our family (it’s not just Scott she married, she got all of us in the process), I’d like to let everyone know how grateful I am to have gotten the best SIL ever. And since she came with the bonus siblings and extended family, I’m thankful for all of them and glad to be an honorary Scharf cousin.
  2. making connections with others through art
  3. that clean feeling you experience right after you shower

sun8Sandy’s list:   

  1. Beautiful sun-shining days
  2. Homemade seafood salad
  3. Short(er) hair

P.S. June 13: Happy anniversary S&J and Happy Birthday SCB!


7 thoughts on “This week…

  1. Meredith,
    Deborah told me that you mentioned me in your blog! I am totally touched that you remembered my birthday. I’ve been following your circumstances and admiring your courage and resilience from the sidelines but I wanted to just drop a note and finally reconnect. It sounds like the medical procedure is never ending and tortuous but I hope it is effective and Adam and I are praying for your recovery. You seem to have an amazing inner strength and I hope that sees you through to the other side of this ordeal. I hope the BBQ with Stef and Jason was fun!

    • For Mrs Martin, you had to track what phase the moon was in, cut it out from the newspaper, and then go outside to see it and write a description of what it looked like and what time you saw it. Then you had to put it on a huge oak tag chart. I can’t believe you don’t remember…

Leave a comment