Time to talk about organ donation

I’ve had been having a hard past couple days. In addition to feeling under the weather, I found out that someone I cared for deeply passed away.

As for feeling under the weather, I spoke to one of the coordinators who told me that my symptoms are normal and are potential side effects of the medication I’m on (super not fun). As for my friend, I can only attribute his death to the fact there aren’t enough organ donors and people have to get really sick before they qualify and sometimes they’re just too sick to last long enough to get their organ donation.

Which leads to a very timely topic: imageThis weekend (traditionally in November two weeks before Thanksgiving) is celebrated as National Donor Sabbath. National Donor Sabbath is a time when leaders of all faiths and denominations are asked to bring attention to the gift of organ donation. If your place of worship doesn’t already have something scheduled, ask your clergy to address the topic. During this 3-day weekend (Friday, Saturday, and Sunday) you, can make a real difference for the more than 123,000+ people waiting for transplants. And, to be honest, if doesn’t happen THIS weekend, that’s okay, just make sure it happens.

I almost didn’t make it. Too many of my friends haven’t made it. Until I was placed in this situation, I didn’t really give organ donation much thought; But now it’s hard to think of anything else. I don’t understand why more people aren’t willing to save lives in their deaths. It is only through the generosity of my donor that I am still here; that my donor’s family during their worst suffering, thought to help a complete stranger. If you needed an organ transplant would you want someone to give it to you so that you could live? If you answered yes, then why not do the same for someone else?
You can become a donor by signing the back of your driver’s license or by contacting the local state donor organization. Both your local organization and the national Donate Life organization can give you more information about the process and about becoming a donor. And if you are Jewish, you can also contact the Halachic Organ Donor Society (HODS) for more information how to register yourself as a Halachic (according to Jewish law) donor.

image

2 thoughts on “Time to talk about organ donation

  1. Aw honey I am so sorry for your loss. May you continue to go from Strength to STrength. You are climbinguphill (literally here!) and doing great!

  2. Dear Meredith,
    I am so thrilled over your amazing progress in these past two weeks. The news that you had gotten out of the hospital and had begun a new stage in life filled me and so many others who have been praying for you with overwhelming joy. I know that you still have many months of hard work ahead of you, and I will keep asking Hashem to help you achieve your goal of full recovery. You look so beautiful in the pictures that you posted last week. I am in awe of your strength, perseverance and commitment and your advocacy for halachic organ donation which I knew about, but now realize is an issue that needs all of our vital support to keep saving lives. I wish you continued good health and success. May Hashem watch over you and help you and your wonderful mom in every way.

Leave a comment